Festival home page |  2014 Festival


George Hummer, who died at the end of 2006, was a local teacher, writer and critic. He will be remembered by many in the area for the warmth of his personality, his support for the arts. and his profound knowledge of literature. He was a prize-winning novelist and his reviews of our Theatre productions were always stylish and readable. George was deeply committed to communicating his love of literature and the value of good writing; it is for these reasons that a Literature Prize of £50 will be awarded to remember him and to encourage good, readable writing. The panel of three judges will be chaired by Whitbread Prize Judge, Patrick Neale.

Competition Rules
  • The prize will be awarded for a piece of poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction of up to 1,000 words on a theme of the writer’s choice.
  • Writers must not have had work published commercially.
  • Entries must not have been previously published – copyright will remain with the author.
  • Entrants must live in a 15-mile radius of Chipping Norton.
  • Entry fee is £2 (cheques payable to Chipping Norton Music Festival).
  • Application forms can be downloaded from the Festival website www.cnmf.org.uk or collected from Jaffé & Neale, Middle Row, Chipping Norton.
  • The names of competitors must not appear on their entries but only on the accompanying entry form.
  • Entry forms should be marked Class 72 and sent to the Speech & Drama Entries’ Secretary (see syllabus and entry form).
  • Work should be typed in Times New Roman 12pt, double-spaced, and printed on single-sided A4 paper.
  • Members of the Music Festival Committee, the George Hummer Prize Committee and Competition Judges are not eligible to enter.
  • The deadline for entries is Friday, 24th January 2014.
  • Short-listed competitors will be invited to the Festival Concert on Saturday, 22nd March 2014 when the prize will be presented.
  • The winner’s name and their entry will then be posted on the Festival website.

Jan Harvey reads her prize-winning entry (below), "Five Minutes Ago" in 2013:

Previous winning entries:

2012 - Freda Volans.

2011 - Mary-Louise Crown.

2010 - John Wheatley.

2009 - MS Clary.

In 2008, Rachel Bentham receives the first Hummer Prize for Creative Writing from Patrick Neale, Chair of Judges.
Read Rachel's prize-winning entry.